Paranoid

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Short stories

Something’s wrong. Something’s wrong and she won’t tell me. Why won’t she tell me?! Does she not trust me? Why wouldn’t she trust me? What did I do?! Great… This is just great. This is how it all begins. It starts as one little thing. Maybe she got into a fight with her mom. That’s all it is. A fight with her mom. But then it will escalade. She’ll have bigger problems that she won’t confide in me. Like… A pregnancy scare! What if she thinks she’s pregnant and she never clues me in? Where does that leave our friendship? You can’t have a friendship if you don’t trust each other… Does this mean we’re not friends?! Or maybe we’re slowly drifting away from each other. What about all my other friends? Am I slipping away from them as well? Or… What if there’s nothing to really slip away from? What if they all just hang out with me because they feel bad for me. That would mean that everything I ever believed was a lie? And what does that make me? A loser? A fool? A foolish loser? Why do I think like this? Why do I put myself through this mental torture? My friends love me. My friends love me. My friends love me.

Right?

Leave a Reply

