Guarded

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Poems

He lied to me
Each fabricated story
Pours out of his mouth
Like quick silver
While his hands hold mine
Trying to emphasize how genuine he is
But I know the truth
I know what was really said
What was really done

He lied to me
And every false word
Fires out of a gun
And strikes me in the chest
He doesn’t blink
His cold blue eyes
His small shriveling heart
Doesn’t skip a beat
He thinks he has everyone fooled
But smoke and mirror tricks
Don’t work on me

He lied to me
Each dead promise
Tattoos itself in my mind
Every prick of its inked needle
Is a reminder of why he can’t be trusted
And its creation will stay
Forever imprinted on my brain

He lied to me
And now I can’t trust
Those who try so hard
To get close
While they say they’re here forever
I can’t help but feel
That just like him
They’ll lie to me
And disappear into the air

Leave a Reply

