Defensive

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Short stories

[Heather is sitting in a hotel room with her friend, Kat. Heather just read a text message from her sister, about how she was just dumped. Heather is furious and is pacing back and forth, ranting to Kat.]

“He said what?! Are you kidding me?! Are you freakin’ kidding me?! Who does he think he is? How can he think this is ok? That is no way to treat a friend! I can’t believe he doesn’t have the balls to break up with her in person! Ugh! [Heather throws her hands into the air.] I should yell at him. I should call his house phone and demand to speak with him. Then I’ll let him have it. Oh, I will lose it. He won’t even know what hit him. I mean… Seriously?! You can’t break up with your girlfriend by having someone else tell her it’s over. And to make it worse, it was over text! It just doesn’t work that way. It just doesn’t. Seriously? Be a man and tell the girl yourself that you want to break up. Even if you can’t tell her face to face, at least call her. What is he so scared of anyway? He knows her. He knows she won’t be mad. She, of all people, would understand. Maybe he’s scared of me… Maybe he thought I’d be mad. Well, I guess that sucks for him because now, I’m really mad and when we get home, I’m kicking his butt!” [Heather flops down on her bed and sighs.]

Leave a Reply

